January 12 - January 26, 2021

Candidate Qualification Window; All interested candidates must contact the City Clerk’s Office

March 2, 2021

Election Day

April 13, 2021

Potential Runoff Election Day

May 17, 2021

Assumption of Office for All Officials

Absentee Ballots

Paper absentee ballots can be obtained in the City Clerk’s office, City Hall 2201 University Blvd. Download a PDF

Applications are due by Feb. 25 at 5 p.m.
Ballots are due by March 1 at 5 p.m.

Ballots may be mailed, or delivered to the City Clerk’s Office:
- Monday – Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
- Saturday, Feb. 20 from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.
- Saturday, Feb. 27 from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Voter Registration Information 

Please contact the Tuscaloosa County Board of Registrars at
205-349-3870 ext. 8415 and located in Courthouse Annex at 2501 7th Street.

Polling Locations

District 1
(TDOT) Building Auditorium
1000 28th Avenue

District 2
McDonald Hughes Community Center
3101 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.

District 3
Church of the Highlands
721 Rice Mine Road NE

District 4
Calvary Baptist Church Annex
1208 Paul W. Bryant Drive

District 5
Alberta Baptist Church
2210 University Blvd. East

District 6
Belk Activity Center
2101 Bowers Park Drive

District 7
East McFarland Baptist Church
6007 McFarland Blvd. East

Regular Absentee Voting
City Clerk's Office
Tuscaloosa City Hall
2201 University Boulevard


Serena Fortenberry 
Martin Houston
Walt Maddox

City Council, District 1
Que Chandler
Katherine Waldon
Matthew Wilson
City Council, District 2
Raevan Howard
Boris Hurst
Paul W. Sanders Sr.
Norma Young
City Council, District 3
Norman Crow
Matt Hood
Bill Wright

City Council, District 4
Lee Busby
City Council, District 5
Sam Badger
Kip Tyner
City Council, District 6 
John Faile
Eric Gaines
Eddie Pugh
City Council, District 7
Cassius Lanier
Sonya McKinstry

Chair, Board of Education
Eric M. Wilson

Board of Education, District 1
Karen Thompson-Jackson

Board of Education, District 2
Deon Washington
Kendra Williams
Board of Education, District 3
Mayci Hartley
Lesley Powell
Board of Education, District 4
Patrick Hamner
Board of Education, District 5
Erica Grant

Board of Education, District 6
Marvin Lucas

Board of Education, District 7
Erskine Simmons


The City Clerk

The City Clerk is the local elections administrator and coordinates with the County of Tuscaloosa and the City’s election consultant in the organization and conduct of Municipal Elections.

This includes, but is not limited to: 

  • Preparation of necessary resolutions calling General or Special Municipal Elections 
  • The coordination of the candidate qualifying process, ballot preparation 
  • Recruitment and training of election workers 
  • Canvassing of election results and subsequent certification


The City Clerk

For inquiries, please contact the city clerk’s office at 205-248-5010 or cityclerk@tuscaloosa.com